Oregon Writers Colony continues to run mostly on the service of volunteers. These permanent committees do the bulk of the work, aided by task forces for special events or projects. Here are the standing committees of OWC:

Workshops and Programs

The Workshops and Programs Committee manages classes, workshops, and quarterly meetings, as well as the annual Spring Conference at the Sylvia Beach Hotel in Newport and the annual Founders Day Celebration at Colonyhouse.

Chair, Becky Kjelstrom

All Media Communications

The All Media Communications Committee handles the OWC website, Facebook page, OWC eBlast, and other media.


The Colonyhouse committee manages the use of the house and maintenance of the house and garden maintenance.

Chair, Marlene Howard

Writer in the House Weekends

The Writer in the House Committee schedules and manages the Writer in the House Weekends.

Chair, Nancy Slavin

Archive Committee

The Archive Committee is dedicated to logging and preserving OWC history.

Chair, Judy O’Neill

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee plans and directs the financial decisions of OWC.

Chair, Rae Richen

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee ensures the integrity and accountability of OWC finances.

Chair Cowli Villiardos

Colonyhouse Accessibility and Development Committee

The Colonyhouse Accessibility and Development Committee works toward making the Colonyhouse accessible to our disabled colleagues.

Chair, Marlene Howard

Bonnie Bean Graham Short Story Contest

The Bonnie Bean Graham Short Story Contest Committee organizes and manages the short story contest.

Chair, Lill Ahrens